See how is changing the way you learn piano. Click Here »

Phrygian Piano Mode

Windows Media Player Quicktime & iPod Facebook Twitter YouTube

Learn How To Play The Phrygian Mode On The Piano!

Now I want to talk to you about the third mode of the major scale. The third mode is called the phrygian mode. This mode uses the same notes from the major scale, but starts on the third note. In the case of the C major scale, the phrygian mode is E, F, G, A, B, C, D, E. From these notes we can build a seventh chord. E, G, B, and D make up the E minor seventh chord.

Let's use an A major scale to build a C sharp minor seventh chord. The notes of the A major scale are A, B, C sharp, D, E, F sharp, and G sharp. So we can create the phrygian mode of the scale by restating the scale, starting with the C sharp, which gives us. C sharp, D, E, F sharp, G sharp, A, B, C sharp. We build the C sharp minor seventh chord by using the notes C sharp, E, G sharp, and B.

Hopefully these lessons are giving you a good understanding of all of the ways in which musical notes, chords, and scales, relate to one another.

You can also check out the Locrian Piano Mode or Lydian Piano Mode.

The Better Way To Learn Piano

Pianote has officially launched - and it's your chance to save up to 60% as a founding member. Click on the button below to see all the details!

Click Here »
Fill out the form below for free instant access to exclusive bonus video lessons that teach piano scales, licks, chords, fingering, accidentals, and much more!